Select Page

Years 10 and 11

Cambridge International Qualifications

Since 2009, Wentworth College has been successfully teaching the Cambridge International Education (CIE) programme. This is a nationally and internationally recognised academic syllabus covering a wide range of subjects.

CIE is the world’s largest provider of international qualifications for secondary school students. Every year millions of students are entered for CIE examinations in over 160 different countries and 10 000 schools. The curriculum is international and does not simply demand recalled knowledge; instead, it emphasises the acquisition of critical thinking and problem solving skills.

Years 10 & 11 – Cambridge IGCSE

Cambridge IGCSE develops successful learners through a skills-based approach to teaching and assessing. At Wentworth College, these courses are usually taught over two years – Years 10 and 11 – which allows students to study a range of subjects and at great depth. However, students can enter the programme in Year 11 on enrolment and are then given assistance in catching up with the content of their different courses.

Students usually sit examinations in 7 subjects.
Compulsory for Wentworth Students – IGCSE English Literature, then moving into the separate sciences in Year 11 IGCSE English Language, IGCSE Mathematics (Core or Extended), and IGCSE Sciences in Year 10.
Students then select a further 3 subjects from the list below, as well as enjoying periods for general Physical Education and Health.

  • IGCSE Art and Design – Graphics
  • IGCSE Art and Design – Painting
  • IGCSE Art and Design – Photography
  • IGCSE Art and Design – Textiles
  • IGCSE Biology
  • IGCSE Chemistry
  • IGCSE Design Technology
  • IGCSE Economics
  • IGCSE English Language
  • IGCSE Environmental Management
  • IGCSE ESOL (if any of the compulsory subjects are not suitable)
  • IGCSE Geography
  • IGCSE History
  • IGCSE Information Computer Technology
  • IGCSE Music
  • IGCSE Physical Education (an academic course separate from general Physcial Education)
  • IGCSE Physics
    David Gale

    David Gale

    Years 10/11 Dean

    Discover More

    09 424 3273




    Linked In

    independent schools of new zealand
    Cambridge International Education